Starbucks Gift Card View Master

This was idea came to me the other day, when I realized I had an bunch of Starbucks cards that I never threw away or re-used for future purchases or gift giving. I think that if they made cards differently with more images that worked with my viewer that it might be a neat trend for Starbucks. This idea is more constructive fun for creative types and perhaps for parents create with their children. It could easily be applied to any beverage cup and one could use any image paper.

I made a Starbucks Gift Card View Master using one Starbucks “Venti” Hot Beverage Cup.

starbucks venti

I measured the width of an average cup lid. Next I cut slits on either side of the lid the same width of a gift card.  Then I cut the same width on the surface of the lid, but kept enough plastic so as to hold the gift card in place and act like two light guards.

IMG_0831

Then I poked a hole in the bottom of the
cup.

IMG_0829

I put the lid back on. Slid a gift card with a fun “scene” sliding the card facing towards the inside of the cup. Put the cup up to a bright light source and appreciated the card. Certainly anyone can just hold the card up to the light using their hands, but I thought this would be a simple fun project, teaching others about recycling and to appreciate the spent gift cards in a way that would keep both the cards and cup from the trash heap. IMG_0831

Then I tried first a card pictured above, that revealed a steaming hot beverage: IMG_0832

But I used a “cafe” Starbucks scene, with a window scene for the best view. This could be a fun rainy day project. Drawing images on paper and sliding them through the cup could be a fun idea and children could write a story about the images they created. Have fun you guys, and thanks again for stopping by recycledartblues.com

 

Leave a Reply

