Designing

I always am designing things. I like to draw, sew, craft, glue, stitch, sculpt, plan and paint. I have two websites that I own to post my crafts but also detail the journey I have had bringing my art ideas to completion. Sometimes I lose interest or my creative pursuits go in different directions. Occasionally I will design one of a kind clutch purses as a hobby. Which can sometimes be featured at totesclutch.com. There are many types of handbags for women, making handmade ones that women and sometimes men may want to buy can be a daunting process. The market is saturated with designer bags and even handmade handbags that getting noticed for your work is very difficult. I don’t own a special sewing machine or special tools to make my clutch purses. I like the challenge in being a guy with little experience in the couture world, creating clutch purses that someone might want. I have made about 25 embellished totes and sold 20 of them at past shows, which was quite unexpected. I also made two mini clutch purses out of some art pieces of mine that were canvas paintings from previous art shows, painted in acrylic paint. The paintings became the design for the outside cover of the mini clutch purses. I also took a polka dotted place mat from a dollar tree store and created a tiny clutch purse complete with zipper and used a shoe lace for the handle. It was fun to make. I sold one art mini clutch at the tail end of show because a woman liked the animal images that she saw in the painting. She picked it up and said, “How cute. Its a zoo purse”. I sold it to her for $10.00. I was impressed that she liked it. I love, love, hand made purses made from alternative resources.

My totesclutch.com website is an extension of my creative appreciation for couture. I don’t wear couture. I am not much of a clotheshorse and although I am gay which usually feeds the stereotype that I might fit into because I like and appreciate fashion designed purses, I personally do not use them, but I find them very fascinating. So many colors and shapes. There are so many designer purses from collections that serve the purpose of making a statement for the person that carries them. Men’s bags, leather ones by Coach and other designers, in brown or black leather, and other designs, as well as messenger bags, now those I love for myself.
 
Generally you will find my recycled art ideas showcased here or find me sharing ideas about art and social art networking on my twitter page, http://www.twitter.com/recycledartblues, where as my totesclutch.com website will feature many ideas and post about fashion, fashion tips, interviews, featured artists and accessories. Totesclutch.com is more of a potpurri of fashion and style, home, bath and body. ENJOY! Thanks for reading.
 
Leave a Reply

